Ford Ranger Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1st; it's a chev.
I was heading home when my '92 chev 1 ton van decided to run out of fuel. It's on propane and has two tanks, one reading empty, one reading full ??? So I use my cheater hose and add some fuel from a bbq tank to get home. Do some research and find out the "t-connection integral relief valve, twin tank double back check " is stuck so only one tank is getting used. Buy a used one from Ray's Auto in Red Deer 403-343-8894 or 403-341-4860 [ say hi and mention my name ] for a 1/4 of new price and install. This is when it gets interesting. [Remember, I'm not a mechanic, I just play, so be kind. :)]
Totally dead battery ??? This van sat at job for 3 weeks in middle of winter down to -25C and started no problem. So I put in a fully charged battery, reads 12.7 V. Try cranking it, reacts like a dead battery. At the same time I have these other things happening;
headlights come on dim
brake lights on full with no one pressing on brake
turn signals not working; the bulb opposite that's supposed to indicate is going off [dead]
I notice there is a bright blue spark when I disconnect the -ve batt cable with the key off. Thinking there is a short causing current draw, I use a test light between batt -ve and cable and pull fuses. Nothing, no circuit seems to be causing the problem. [I did find and replace 2 burnt fuses 8)]

Sooo, what's the solution :question:
This is a test :exclaim:
[After 4 days I finally figured it out{actually, my friend Don did}]
I'll give the solution after getting a few answers

Richard

·
Premium Member
3,321 Posts
bad alternator?

·
Registered
3,686 Posts