Ford Ranger Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My new to me 2002 Ranger needs (I think) a new water pump.

1. It drips a bit of coolant, although I'm not sure where it's leaking from. It SEEMS to be in the general area of the water pump, although the damp spot is kinda more to the drivers side than the passenger.

2. Something is also squealing, which almost sounds like a bearing but not quite.

3. The idler pulley has rust all the way round the middle which is (I think) chewing up the belt and leaving black dust on driver side of the engine compartment.

4. This vehicle has 200,000 miles on it, and I'm not sure anything has been done at all in the way of maintenance, ever.

Now, as I study things, the task does not look THAT difficult. I'm not a mechanic, but I'm pretty handy, with lots of experience working on motorcycles over the years and a decent stock of tools.

Also, the parts are not that expensive, which is a pleasant surprise.

(Long time Volvo owner, who just did tuneups on both his turbo wagon and his Ranger. Six spark plugs for the Ranger were less than a single plug for the Volvo!)

So what the heck, let's replace the water pump, belt, idler pulley and tensioner. And maybe back flush the heater core, as I got almost no heat at all during the winter.

Question 1:

Have I missed something?

Question 2:

Am I nuts to do this, or even to attempt to do this?

Question 3:

Looking for parts online, the first three places I look at show two different categories for belts, a "serpentine belt" and an "accessory belt". Prices are about the same for both categories and the part numbers are mystical. Am I missing something? I only see one belt on the truck ...

Thanks for any thoughts, hints or warnings.

Alan

·
Registered
1 Posts