Ford Ranger Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone i have a 97 ford ranger 4 wheel drive with the 4.0. I have been having alot of problems with the front end so far i replaced. Universal joints in axle shafts both sides ball joints upper lower both sides the whole tie rod. Everything seems good and tight but i still get a popping noise when i turn the wheel the truck only has 110 thousand miles on it. Does anyone here have any idea of what is going on im totally lost. Your input is greatly appreciated thanks jeff.

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
Welcome to F.R.
I'm not that good at diagnosing something unless it's happened to me already, and I haven't had this problem. That said, maybe more info would help someone else to help you. Does the popping sound happen just once or is it a series of popping sounds? Does it happen turning in both directions, or just left or just right? Only when going slow or at speed? Anything that you can come up with that doesn't normally happen will help.
Good luck,

Richard

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It happens only on right hand turns and when im stopped turning the wheel i only pops once then its fine. My brother told me it might be the sway bar i pound on the truck pretty hard in the mud so i guess it could be anything.

·
Registered
711 Posts
might be a hub.

·
Registered
585 Posts
i dont think it would be the sway bar because i dont think the sway bar moves when turning. what i would do is have a friend look under there when your turning it and go from there, you might even see it pop or aleast hear it better

·
Registered
3,686 Posts